Useless opinions.

Image

Have you ever noticed in the movies when the hero says to the damsel in distress, “don’t look down” she always does?

There is a reason when you say “don’t” it doesn’t work.

The function of the conscious mind is to make decisions. The function of the subconscious mind is to carry out those decisions. The most important decisions we make in life are often decisions we don’t remember making. They are the decisions about who we are going to be, about what strategies we will use to win in life, and how we will avoid repeating bad experiences.

We make them when we are young, and our subconscious minds make sure that whatever we decided about who we are, what we are capable or not capable of, and how we will relate to people, will be carried out.

It’s as if the conscious mind is the programmer, and the subconscious mind is the part being programmed.

Hypnotists understand this, and know that it is the subconscious mind that they must address to be effective at planting suggestions that the subject will carry out when he is conscious, and he is often not aware he is doing it, or does not understanding why he is doing it.

There are ways of getting at those hidden decisions, bringing them into the light, and addressing them. Hypnotism is one, but you are putting your subconscious programming into the hands of someone else. Do you really want to trust something so important to someone else, especially if he or she is a stranger?

Another is to find a competent Dianetic auditor. Good luck with that, without getting involved with the C of S. (You know who I mean). I don’t recommend that path.

The last one is to register in the Landmark Forum. This is an education that helps you uncover your hidden decisions and create new possibilities for being that are empowering.

Back to the original point of this article. Why you should not use the word “don’t.

The subconscious mind does not comprehend negatives. No, not, don’t, won’t, can’t, etc. get translated into the positive form, especially “don’t.” So if you say, “I won’t forget my keys.” You are sure to forget your keys, because your subconscious mind translates it into “I will forget my keys.” Then it carries out the order.

So, whether you are talking to yourself, your spouse, your child, or anyone, say it in positive terms: “I will remember my keys.” “Be careful.” (not, “don’t hurt yourself”), “I am healthy and strong.” instead of “I hope I don’t get sick.” “I hope I succeed,” instead of “I hope I don’t screw up.” To a child; “Be good.” instead of “Don’t be bad.”

You get the idea.

Another place to be very careful about how you talk to yourself or your child is in the careless use of language relating to the body. For example, if you are in the habit of saying something like “It’s a pain in the ass,” or “you’re giving me a headache.” or “oh my aching back!” to describe frustration, annoyance, or some other negative emotional state, you are creating a state of physical illness in your body.

That’s because your subconscious mind and your body will carry out your commands.

My husband had a friend from college. He lost track of her, but a few years ago he got back in communication with her. She was very ill and soon after died from colon cancer. All her life she was in the habit of saying “it’s a pain in the ass” to describe any situation she was unhappy with.

If you’re annoyed, angry, sad, or irritated, say that, don’t say something about the condition of your body. It’s ok to say “I’ve got a knot in my stomach right now,” as a means of communicating how you are feeling about a particular situation, but don’t say “you make me sick.”

I first came across this idea in an article in Co-Evolution Quarterly magazine, which I subscribed to in the 70’s and 80’s. The article in titled, “Language, Thought and Disease” by W.C. Ellerbroek, M.D. The article is available to read on the internet. The issue is number 17, Spring 1978.

So, “Live long and prosper” my friends and fans, and treat yourself and your body like the precious things they are.

Leave a Reply

